Intro

About the blog

This is a blog about sewing – mostly clothes, mostly for myself. I don’t sew a lot but I’m hoping to do more. I plan to use this space to recount my trials and hopefully share a few successes.

About me

I expect to focus a lot on fitting, since that’s a skill I’m trying to improve. To that end, I’m petite and shortwaisted, meaning I’m short everywhere but extra short in the lower torso. Other details forthcoming as I chronicle my fitting woes.

My approach to sewing

I come to sewing through the somewhat unusual path of historic costuming. My interest has been early medieval, which means a lot of tunics, a lot of straight lines, and minimal fitting. (Or should I say, my interest in straight lines and minimal fitting meant I gravitated to early medieval, i.e. tunics.) I like having nicely finished seams but I don’t particularly care for sergers (overlockers), so I tend to go with French seams or bound seams whenever possible.

I’m not in the habit of using commercial patterns (or making street clothes, for that matter) but I’m trying to get more comfortable with them so I can improve my rather spartan wardrobe.

I consider myself to be something of a Selfish Seamstress in that I mostly sew for myself, but I’ve hardly raised it to the art that Herself has. I’m no Sewaholic, that’s for sure; at this point I usually want to have the item more than I want to make the item, but alas – having it requires making it more often than not. And I’m much too fussy and methodical (some would say “plodding”) to be a Slapdash Sewist. I suppose you could say I’m a citizen of the Petite Republic.

Welcome!

About Zena

I sew sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Intro

  1. Tanit-Isis says:

    You have a sewing blog! So cool! Thanks for your comment over at the Selfish Seamstress! 😀

  2. juebejue says:

    hiii!!! 😀 welcome to the sew-tiny-blogsphere! 😀 i cannot wait to see all the historical sewing you did and are going to do! 🙂 your intro is really cute 🙂 I used to do french seam a lot, but i had been too lazy for it lately as it is harder to alter!

    • Zena says:

      Thanks for the welcome 🙂 I’m not sure how much historical sewing you’ll see here, since (a) I’m trying to make regular clothes that I can wear without the Hallowe’en comments and (b) I’m kinda bored with it! However, it’s entirely possible that someone else might not find this stuff boring, and it would mean I could squeeze out a post without having to do new sewing. So stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

