here’s one I prepared earlier

Welcome to my comfort zone. This is a tiered skirt I made a couple years ago based on principles of rectangular construction, and the only curved seam is at the waist – which you can’t see. I’ve done a basic casing with self-fabric drawstring, but you’ll have to take my word for it.

I’ve used 60″/150cm wide, lightweight linen, and the tiers are constructed using selvage-to-selvage panels. The bottom tier is 8 panels, then 4, then 2, and the top tier/yoke is somewhat less than 1 panel. (It only really needs to be big enough to fit over the hips.)

There’s a lot of fabric in here. This doesn’t quite capture the volume:

(Hmm, those sleeves are a little long. Not usually a problem for me.)

I don’t particularly like buying notions other than thread (it saves dashes across town for supplies, for one thing), and I generally like to keep things simple and hopefully elegant, if possible. Also, I’m cheap.

The raw edges (horizontal seams) are all self-bound. I made the non-pleated seam allowance extra wide, then folded it over to bind the edge. The drawstring is made using a bias tape maker (½” finished width).

Assembly is done from the bottom up and the only fitting is done at the waist as the last step. I put the skirt on and tie a length of 1″ wide elastic over the skirt and around my waist, and arrange it so that the horizontal seams are in fact horizontal, and the top of the elastic sits where I want the top of the waist casing, then trace the elastic with a sliver of soap. There is one vertical seam on the yoke (which runs the full length of the skirt); I put this at CF (I don’t think it’s particularly noticeable) where the drawstring will tie.

(If you’re interested in any of these techniques and want more info, let me know, and I’ll explain more fully.)

One of the cool things about this skirt is that you can tuck it up and create different looks. Here’s my favourite:

Not the best photo, but it creates a kind of bustle at the back.

About Zena

I sew sometimes.
This entry was posted in wearable and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to here’s one I prepared earlier

  1. Tanit-Isis says:

    Hey Zena, I just gave you a Beautiful Blogger Award (see my blog for what it means. I know, it’s a meme, but it’s fun!)

  2. Pingback: red linen skirt | Blood, Sweatshop & Tears

  3. Pingback: 2 Oct 2011 MAF | Blood, Sweatshop & Tears

Leave a Reply

