red linen skirt

I’ve just started working on a new project – a long tiered skirt in lightweight red linen, using the same design as my black one.

For some reason the fabric I’m using (IL020, 3.5 oz) isn’t currently available, but here’s the same colour, available in a heavier weight (IL019, 5.3 oz):

I’m using my own variation on the tiered skirt, a.k.a. gypsy skirt. Since every piece (with one minor exception) is a selvage-to-selvage rectangle cut on the straight grain, I use a simple set of directions (or ‘recipe’) rather than a pattern. My design uses 3 tiers plus a yoke. The yoke uses one panel (though less than the full width of the fabric), then 2, 4, and 8 panels for the each of the subsequent tiers. I put the first horizontal seam about level with the crease at the hip when lifting the knee, the next seam at about the knee, and the last one closer to the ankle than the knee (which is probably where most long skirts would end). I should note that this skirt is full length – as long as I can stand it. The first iteration was strictly dance costume and I’ve kept that length. This skirt is meant to be “real” clothes, but I want to be able to use it for dance too.

My method of assembly is very different from how people usually build these. I’ll explain as I get going. In the meantime, I’m in the midst of cutting the panels. Nothing to see here – no, really. I measure the length, snip in from the selvage, pull a thread and cut along it. Linen has a clear weave so it’s not too hard to do, and pulling a thread makes the correct line even easier to follow. You’ll want good light though. I figure this is faster than drawing cutting lines since I only have to measure at one end and it doesn’t matter whether the grain is completely straight. I’ve tried tearing, but it doesn’t work too well on linen since the fibre is quite strong.

About Zena

I sew sometimes.
This entry was posted in process and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

