what I did on my summer vacation

So wouldn’t you know – the day my blog first gets some real exposure (and hits) is shortly before I leave for vacation. I’ve been stealing moments on borrowed computers, looking at the daily  stats as they peaked at a number I found so high as to be silly, then steadily dwindle as my disappointed blogging audience slowly gave up and looked elsewhere for their amusement. Alas.

I wasn’t expecting to do anything related to sewing during my end-of-summer, family-and-distant-friends road trip, but it’s funny how opportunities (other than obsessing over blog stats) come up.

For instance, while visiting my 99-year-old great aunt (who still lives on her own and maintains a huge garden!), her daughter offered me some fabric that she (the daughter) wanted to get rid of since she no longer sews. One piece out of the five caught my eye. At first I thought I might make a bag out of it, I’m now thinking of a pleated skirt. Anyway, into the stash it goes!

[I’m theoretically not buying fabric anymore as I have plenty in the stash, though I do allow myself a purchase if I have a very specific project in mind and a good likelihood of actually following through. Let’s see how well that goes ;-) ]

Since I decided to make more of an effort to make “real” clothes (as opposed to various costumes), I figured I should start by stocking the closet with basics. To that end, I thought a black knee-length pleated skirt would be a good project. I have a design that I like for the skirt and thought silk dupioni would work nicely for the project – I just needed to get some, but the sari shop where I get this stuff is out of town and the last two times I was able to check they didn’t have any black. However, I finally scored on this trip. There was a small bolt that I unrolled to discover it was pretty much the exact length I needed – about 2.5 yards (although I can do it with 2). I took it to the cutter and asked for 2 yards. She measured it out (2 yards, 24 inches) and asked if I wanted the whole piece. I asked if she could give me a deal and got it for the price of 2.25 yards :-)

(I also picked up a piece of cotton that’s somewhere between teal and ink, but that’s destined to become a headwrap to go with my dance costume: no cutting other than to straighten the ends, and no sewing other than maybe doing a rolled hem on the raw edges.)

1. Olive & aqua cotton; 2. black silk dupioni; 3. teal-ink cotton.

However, my biggest “sewing” moment was meeting the Selfish Seamstress when my travels briefly took me through her city, shortly before her move to another continent. We (Selfish, soon-to-be-Mr. Selfish, and I) chatted for an hour over breakfast about everything except sewing and had a lovely time. She wore the wrap dress she recently finished with the pumpkin-coloured shoes (visible here). When we went into a little shop afterwards, one of the clerks commented on how much she liked the shoes. Ah Selfish, inspiring envy wherever she goes!

Between the blog stats and reading other sewing blogs, I’ve just been itching to sew, and that’s a feeling that doesn’t come by all the time! Off I go (now that I’ve beaten the WordPress interface into submission) to be productive!

So wouldn’t you know – the day my blog first gets some real exposure (and hits) is shortly before I leave for vacation. I’ve been stealing moments on borrowed computers, looking at the daily  stats as they peaked at a number I found so high as to be silly, then steadily dwindle as my disappointed blogging audience slowly gave up and looked elsewhere for their amusement. Alas.

I wasn’t expecting to do anything related to sewing during my end-of-summer, family-and-distant-friends road trip, but it’s funny how opportunities (other than obsessing over blog stats) come up.

For instance, while visiting my 99-year-old great aunt (who still lives on her own and maintains a huge garden!), her daughter offered me some fabric that she (the daughter) wanted to get rid of since she no longer sews. One piece out of the five caught my eye. At first I thought I might make a bag out of it, I’m now thinking of a pleated skirt. Anyway, into the stash it goes!

[I’m theoretically not buying fabric anymore as I have plenty in the stash, though I do allow myself a purchase if I have a very specific project in mind and a good likelihood of actually following through. Let’s see how well that goes ;-)]

Since I decided to make more of an effort to make “real” clothes (as opposed to various costumes), I figured I should start by stocking the closet with basics. To that end, I thought a black knee-length pleated skirt would be a good project. I have a design that I like for the skirt and thought silk dupioni would work nicely for the project – I just needed to get some, but the sari shop where I get this stuff is out of town and the last two times I was able to check they didn’t have any black. However, I finally scored on this trip. There was a small bolt that I unrolled to discover it was pretty much the exact length I needed – about 2.5 yards (although I can do it with 2). I took it to the cutter and asked for 2 yards. She measured it out (2 yards, 24 inches) and asked if I wanted the whole piece. I asked if she could give me a deal and got it for the price of 2.25 yards 🙂 (I also picked up a piece of teal cotton, but that’s destined to become a headwrap to go with my dance costume: no cutting other than to straighten the ends, and no sewing other than maybe doing a rolled hem on the raw edges. )

About Zena

I sew sometimes.
This entry was posted in stash and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

