and so it begins

The cutting is done and the sewing, such as it is, has begun. Since I actually know what I’m doing on this particular project [the red linen skirt] and no pattern is necessary, my posts are going to look like a cross between a tutorial and a play-by-play.

Done:

1. Sewed 4 pairs of bottom tier (“T3″) panels together. Pressed seams. (I press one side, then the other side, then open flat and press seam allowances open from wrong side, and finally press from right side. You want to know how I finish my seams so nicely? Sheer tedious labour, but then I like the result more than I dislike doing the work.)

2. Press hem up. (Hem allowance is 1″, so I press up 1″, then fold the raw edge under and press again – more accurate than pressing up ½” and hoping the next turn-up will also be ½”. It won’t.)

I won’t bore you with any further details of my stitching and pressing (since blogging it is even more boring than doing it – I wonder if anyone blogs about watching paint dry?), except to note the bit of excitement at the outset. I had just started pressing when I discovered a smelly mystery substance of unusual odour (SMS-OUO) on the iron soleplate. Odd behaviour from linen fabric and cotton thread. I did a burn test on the thread to make sure it was what it said it was. It was. And I hadn’t had any problems when I had ironed the linen alone earlier. No idea what the SMS-OUO was, but after I cleaned it off I had no further problems.

Next up: pressing the seam allowance on my middle tier (T2) panels; pinning T3 pairs to T2 singles to form the pleats, and sewing in place.

Can you stand the excitement? (At least it’ll start to look like something, hence you can expect photos.)

About Zena

I sew sometimes.
This entry was posted in process and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to and so it begins

  1. Tanit-Isis says:

    Yay! Posts!

    How do you finish your seams?

    • Zena says:

      So far the only seams I’ve done are joining the selvages, so no seam finishing required!

      (These are the vertical seams. My horizontal seams are bound; I’ll describe those in detail when I get there.)

Leave a Reply

