London style

Update on the first impediment to sewing: the move

We packed up everything that would fit in the trailer that was at our disposal, then sent it on ahead to be closer to its final destination. There it sat until a strategic temper tantrum on my part ensured that the floors would be done by the end of November. With most of our possessions in moving limbo, we then made the official move – i.e. my husband and I got in the car with the cat and our essentials, then drove to our new town. We unloaded the boxes from the trailer just in time for…

The second impediment to sewing: the trip

On 30 Nov, we went to Europe. Most of our time was spent in London, where I enjoyed a rare (for me) bit of people-watching. I don’t do this much at home for a couple of reasons: there isn’t much foot traffic anywhere, and the fashions tend to be a little dull. Most people don’t seem to follow fashion – or at least they don’t commit to it the same way. Also, most of the flavour is chewed out of the fashion before it gets here.

I had enough time in London to train my eye to distinguish between the tourists and the residents. Among the female residents, it appears that the outdoor winter uniform is as follows:

  • Fitted coat, hip- or knee-length, in dark and/or neutral colour. By far the most common colour was black, but charcoal, navy and brown were also in evidence. I saw a few tomato red coats as well. To stand out: robin’s egg blue. Many coats were military inspired.
  • Scarf. This was often the one element of colour/whimsy in an otherwise sober outfit.
  • Hat. Usually a toque or beret-style. Occasionally a soft warm winter hat with a small brim.
  • Skirt. Many of these were in wools or other substantial fabrics, but I also noticed a few thinner, more summery skirts.
  • Tights, of various colours. Also a few in nylons. One thing I didn’t get: two different women wearing nude-coloured shoes (i.e. the ones that make you look taller by being the same colour as your skin) and coloured tights.
  • Knee-high boots, in a neutral colour. The most popular style seemed to be a restrained riding boot with low heel, but there were plenty of boots with heels, including some stilettos. I saw one woman in bright purple boots but she appeared to be Italian or Greek. All the English women wore neutrals. Another variation was a lower boot, particularly in a slouchy 80s style.

My clothes were close enough to the uniform not to draw attention. Except for my hat. Which is why I’ll be telling you about that hat in my next post.

About Zena

I sew sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to London style

  1. Big in Japan says:

    Welcome back and happy new year! Not much sewing going on in these parts either. Tour, followed by travel back to the States and then general lethargy have been my major impediments. Do you have a designated sewing space in your new location?

    • Zena says:

      Happy new year to you too! While I had a small but nice sewing room at the old place, I don’t have any dedicated space in the new one. Right now I have my little sewing table (an old oak desk that once belonged to my great-grandfather) in a corner in the dining room. Yes, dining room sewing, but at least I don’t have to move the machine. Things are still up in the air, but I’ll be settling in more once the room is painted. The stash will remain in boxes in the basement for the foreseeable future.

Leave a Reply

