gold silk pantaloons

I got something finished, woo! The colour and texture of this fabric makes me think of flattened Ferrero Rocher wrappers.

gold silk pantaloons

These pantaloons are for tribal bellydance. We generally wear ‘loons under skirts, but I’m not sure I want to hide them.

They’re based on rectangular construction. The only curved seam (such as it is) is the waistband. There’s a self drawstring. The legs are full selvage-to-selvage widths, with the selvages running vertically and knife pleated to a somewhat fitted yoke, shaped using a diamond-shaped crotch gusset. The bottom of the leg is pleated to an inch-wide band. Because the pant leg was so wide and the band so narrow, it was a little difficult to get the pleats on the bottom clean and even – but as you can see, that’s not likely to be an issue. French seams throughout. I like to finish all raw edges anyway, but with this fabric it’s essential as it frays like mad.

I start teaching a 4-week dance class tomorrow, and part of my justification for making these pantaloons was that I could wear them for the class. But then it occurred to me that I’ll be sweating in them. Hmm. You’ll have to wait and see whether preening vanity wins out over practicality.

As for the stripy trousers, they’re on hold for the moment. I inserted the petersham waist facing, which then made the pants look like they didn’t fit again. My current theory is that this is due to a disagreement between the stretch of the fabric and the non-stretch of the petersham.

About Zena

I sew sometimes.
This entry was posted in wearable and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to gold silk pantaloons

  1. Tanit-Isis says:

    Ooh, they look like fun! And remind me a lot of my cream pantaloons (lots of similar pleating to yokes and bands…)

    Have fun teaching your class—I hope it’s a smash! 🙂

  2. Big in Japan says:

    Those are the kind of pantaloons we hope to see on bellydancers!

  3. Pingback: 2 Oct 2011 MAF | Blood, Sweatshop & Tears

  4. Pingback: dance costume in action | Blood, Sweatshop & Tears

Leave a Reply

