socks!

I am the proud owner of a new pair of socks!

Inspired primarily by Carolyn, I got it in my head that I wanted some nice wool socks. Given that my knitting skills are non-existent, when I spotted this lovely pair on sale at the Wednesday craft market for $22, I didn’t hesitate. So they’re handmade, just not by me. As it’s summer I haven’t actually worn them yet.

The red is a warm chili.

I got these in the town of Ganges on Salt Spring Island, BC. There is one other town on the island, called Vesuvius. The total population of the island is about 10,000. They have an almost complete ban on chain stores (no McDonald’s, Tim Horton’s, or Wal-Mart), and they have more than their fair share of artists and notables, including wildlife painter Robert Bateman, rock musician and CBC radio host Randy Bachman (of BTO from the 60s and 70s), former CBC radio host Arthur Black, author and illustrator Nick Bantock (from whose room in Black Sheep Books I bought some vintage postcards).

Blackberries by the side of the road in Ganges, Salt Spring Island, BC.

About Zena

I sew sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to socks!

  1. Carolyn says:

    Those socks are gorgeous!!

  2. Thanks for your lovely comment – I didn’t know you were following me, so your kind words were a nice surprise. Say hi to Noko for me!

Leave a Reply

